Must Hear: The Magic – Joan As Police Woman

The Magic is one of those songs I knew I would like as soon as the first few riffs began. It starts off mellow without being dull, and Joan Wasser’s soft and raspy voice is a refreshing change from barrage of auto-tune we’re subject to these days. I won’t lie – she can get a little pitchy on the higher notes. But they’re so few and far between they’re easy to ignore.

I first heard the song several months ago, and one of my tests for whether it was a ‘song of the moment’ or a truly good song is whether or not I can listen to it and enjoy it just as much after, well, forgetting about it for a long time.

The answer is a definite yes. I happen to have the entire album The Deep Field in my iTunes playlist, but I haven’t heard any of the other songs because every time The Magic is over I just hit repeat. Maybe one day I’ll get around to it. Until then, I’m going to listen to it just a few more times.

Leave a Reply

