Must Hear: Somebody That I Used To Know – Gotye feat. Kimbra

As if having a very unique given name wasn’t enough, Wouter “Wally” De Backer decided he would rather perform under the equally unique stage name Gotye (pronounced “Gauthier”, according to Wikipedia and his YouTube biography).

I’ve heard several songs from Gotye’s latest album Making Mirrors, and they’re all so good I considered featuring him under Artist Alert. But Somebody that I Used to Know, Gotye’s breakthrough song (featuring New Zealander Kimbra Johnson) is just so damn amazing that I didn’t want it to get lost with the others.

Somebody that I Used to Know, Gotye’s beautiful yet indignant song about former lovers, is fairly mellow to begin with. It’s easy to imagine him singing about being fairly hurt. Then comes the chorus that just blew me away. His voice is raised, the lyrics are incensed and simultaneously dismissive, the music is contemporary yet the tune very reminiscent of mellow ’80s rock. I’ve been tempted to sing this song as loudly as I possibly can, but it’s been on repeat all night and it might just drive my family crazy. Or have them thinking I’m heartbroken. Neither of which would be good for me.

Props to the sister for introducing me to this song! The roles seem to be reversing.

Leave a Reply

