Movies That Rock: Eclipse

Disclaimer: I am not a fan of the Twilight series, so please don’t mistake me for one.

Seriously. The only reason I got throught Twilight was because I found it hilarious and also fell asleep at one point. All the bad acting and bad dialogue have been a strong inducement for refusing to watch any more of the series. That said, let’s get on to business here.

The soundtrack of the latest movie in the franchise – Eclipse – is fantastic. With artists like Metric, Muse, Sia, Fanfarlo, Beck, Bat for Lashes, Vampire Weekend, Cee Lo Green, Florence + The Machine, and The Bravery contributing, it’s difficult to tear yourself away from listening to the album several times over. My favourites are VW’s Jonathan Low, Fanfarlo’s Atlas, and Metric’s Eclipse. The movie’s producers have capitalised on the strategy that works for shows like Grey’s Anatomy and Gossip Girl: masking questionable content with stellar music.

You can buy the soundtrack either at Amazon or iTunes.

PS: The picture choice for this post is intentional because I think Dakota Fanning rocks (Man on Fire, anyone?) and refuse to jump on the Team Edward/Team Jacob bandwagon.

One thought on “Movies That Rock: Eclipse

  1. Hi there. I discovered your blog when you featured Yael Meyer’s music on here…I currently work for her. I was just reading through some of your posts and found this one. Couldn’t agree with you more. There’s some pretty great music on all of the soundtracks in my opinion. I’m quite fond of the Bon Iver/St. Vincent tune “Roslyn” off of New Moon.

    I’ve just started a new blog, so feel free to check it out some time. It’s in its infancy right now, but please visit it if you get the chance.

Leave a Reply

