Pitchfork v. Owl City

Much has been written online about Pitchfork’s review of Owl City’s Fireflies. Before I add to the ongoing debate, let me state three facts that hopefully show I’m unbiased:

(a) I blogged about Owl City back in December 2008 when I first started MI, and I’ve never been ashamed to say I like his music.

(b) I have not yet heard Fireflies.

(c) I’m a big fan of The Postal Service, Death Cab For Cutie, and Ben Gibbard.

But I do have to say that I’m disappointed with the Pitchfork review, not because the writer doesn’t like Owl City, but about the way this review is written.

I’m a firm believer in promoting music that I think is good and people should listen to, but I also believe that just because I don’t like a certain song or artist (and believe me there are plenty to fill these categories) doesn’t mean that there aren’t others out there who do like them.

The goal of Musically Inclined – and what, in my opinion, music blogs should strive towards – is to encourage musicians and promote their music and not to be a diatribe about music that is allegedly terrible and how people should not subscribe to because it either sounds like a poor version of someone else’s songs/is just plain terrible/whatever other reason the writer hates it.

There is too much good music in this world that isn’t being heard for a variety of reasons to waste time on focusing on the “bad”. Rather than tell people what they should not be listening to (and hoping that they actually don’t listen to it), it might be better to point them towards something and let them decide for themselves.

Some music trends aside, the average music lover is more intelligent than we give him/her credit for. There’s enough hate in this world already; let’s focus our energy on something positive.

One thought on “Pitchfork v. Owl City

  1. I totally agree.

    I don’t know why the more of a music lover you are, the more likely you are to be a music hater. Well, I guess it makes sense b/c you are more passionate.. BUT, I dont know why it *should* be that way.

    Music is about life, about meaning.. about great things. Life, meaning, great things are different for everyone- so we like different music. … and you know what? That’s okay.

    Cheers, dude. 🙂

Leave a Reply

