Must Hear: Dark Blue – Jack’s Mannequin

jacksmannequin2

Photo by Keaton Andrew

I’ve been sitting on Jack Mannequin’s Dark Blue for about three years now. I first heard the song in 2005 or 2006 because my friend Veronica (who loves Something Corporate) suggested the band to me, and although I haven’t heard it for a while my iPod decided I needed a reminder and the played it on the random setting.

The solo project of Something Corporate frontman Andrew McMahon, Jack’s Mannequin is borne out of the music he writes that doesn’t quite fit the Something Corporate sound. McMahon fronts the band, which released their first album Everything In Transit in 2005. Dark Blue is the second single from the album, and boasts of an extremely catchy guitar riff and a sound that just makes you want to sing along. The piano – one of McMahon’s many skills – also adds a unique element to what was in danger of becoming any other pop-rock song.

Leave a Reply

