Must Hear: Starlite Diner – Ryan Adams

ryanadams1

I’ve never been a big Ryan Adams fan, and Starlite Diner hasn’t yet converted me, but I have to admit it is such an amazing song that I’m bewildered I haven’t heard it sooner. From Adams’s 2005 album 29, Starlite Diner is mellow without being boring with lyrics that are beautiful without being sappy. So far I haven’t been able to come across a single thing to criticise about this song.

Since it doesn’t have a video, I tried to find a link to the recorded version but was extremely unsuccesful. Fortunately I did find a link to a video of him performing the song live at the Gem Theatre in Detroit, and it turns out the live version is even better than the album version (which I didn’t think was possible).

Enjoy the song while I listen to the rest of the album and see if there are any other hidden gems.

Leave a Reply

